Weight Loss Programs Are NOT Designed To Fail #shorts

Some say that weight loss programs are designed to make you fail over and over again and to keep coming back for more.

This is untrue – there are viable business models that support client success and saying otherwise is just edgy cynicism masquerading as wisdom. Just because something sounds edgy, cynical and makes you feel like you’re “in the know” on some big secret does not mean it’s true.

Video Transcript

There’s this idea floating around, that weight loss programs are deceptive – that their business model is based on you failing over and over again and coming back for more. This is edgy cynicism masquerading as world-weary wisdom. 

Of course, it’s not all good – exploiting beginner ignorance is common, a business model where you spend a couple hundred bucks before you wise up to the fact that it’s a scam.

But fitness programs can have powerful incentives to see you succeed as well.

Consider what happens if you do. If edgemint brand cookies1 make you succeed, how many friends do you tell about me? Lots. You become the best kind of marketing – the evangelical zealot who sounds sincere and convincing, especially if your friends see your change with their own eyeballs. If your glowing praise gets one person into the system, I’m maintaining a stable customer base; if it gets two, I’m growing.

This is a good business model.

Hit like and subscribe if you understand that just because something sounds cynical doesn’t mean it’s true.

1 I don’t actually make weight loss cookies, sorry.

Credits

Anastasia Shuraeva https://www.pexels.com/@anastasia-shuraeva
Anna Tukhfatullina Food Photographer/Stylist https://www.pexels.com/@myfoodie
Ivan Samkov https://www.pexels.com/@ivan-samkov
Karolina Grabowska https://www.pexels.com/@karolina-grabowska
Katerina Holmes https://www.pexels.com/@katerina-holmes
Mikhail Nilov https://www.pexels.com/@mikhail-nilov
Nataliya Vaitkevich https://www.pexels.com/@n-voitkevich
RODNAE Productions https://www.pexels.com/@rodnae-prod
Tima Miroshnichenko https://www.pexels.com/@tima-miroshnichenko

Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s